Dr Kayode Fayemi, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) , has been declared winner of the Ekiti State governorship election held on Saturday by the Independent National Electoral commission (INEC)

Professor Idowu Olayinka, INEC’s Chief Returning Officer for the election, announced that Fayemi won in 12 out of the 16 local government areas of the state with 197,459 votes.

His closest rival, People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidate and current Deputy Governor of the state, Kolapo Olusola Eleka polled 178,121 votes.



Meantime, the PDP, has rejected the results, saying the election was marred by irregularities and attacks of its members and supporters.

The party’s agent at the collation centre, Mr Sunday Olowolafe, urged the commission to stay action on the declaration of a winner until a re-run was conducted where there were established cases  of violence, vote-buying and ballot snatching.

Other results declared by Olayinka include Accord, 250;  Action Alliance, 41;  ACD, 1149; AD, 216;  ADB, 1082;  ADA, 107;  AGAO, 31; ANRP, 125;  APA, 1199;  and APDA, 464.

Also declared were  APGA, 70;  ANPP, 14;  DA, 14;  DPC, 147;  DPP,181;  FJP, 42;  GPN, 20;  I.D, 31;, KOWA, 23;  LP, 280;  MMN, 35;  MPN, 23;  NDLP, 44;  NPC, 353  PANDEL, 74;  and PGC, 1242.

Others are DPA, 632;  PPN, 107;  SDO, 367;  UDP, 29;  UPN, 33;  YDP, 31 and YPP, 49.

The state INEC returning officer, said the  total valid votes in the election was 384,594 while  total votes cast was 403,451, with 18,857 votes  invalidated.



Dr. Kayode Fayemi is expected to take over from the incumbent, Mr Ayo Fayose,  on Oct. 16, 2018

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.